We are making strong progress with the restoration of Coed y Bleiddiau. Inside the cottage, the ceilings have been removed and floorboards lifted allowing us to replace rotten timber lintels and joists, and joinery repairs throughout the building.
This is often a fascinating stage of a Landmark restoration, giving an insight into how a building has developed and been lived in over time. An old railway mile post was found being used as a window lintel during the demolition of the old bathroom. It is believed to be one of only 3 original 1836 mile posts that have survived.
A new section of roof has been constructed at the rear of the cottage on the eastern elevation, above what will become the Landmark bathroom. The ground floors have been dug out and new floor slabs laid in the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen and the quarry tiles have been retained for re-use. In what will be the sitting room, the removal of the staircase enclosure has revealed the original banister. Mark Smitten in our craft team has started work on the kitchen in our workshop at Wormington Grange.
In front of the cottage, the east end of the garden wall has been opened up to reinstate what we believe to be the original access route from the garden directly on to the platform.
All the materials for the project are being delivered by steam train thanks to the Ffestiniog Railway. This month our contractor, Mark Roberts, and his team, will carefully dismantle the porch which will be taken away by train then transported to our workshop, where Mark Smitten will begin a skilful repair.